The Engineer’s Blueprint

The Engineer’s Blueprint

To fear is human. It stems from our emotional connection with uncertainty and humans, being mortal beings that could have their candles snuffed out at any moment, love the notion of assurance. Being confident of things and having everything go out as planned is a very fulfilling because it gives us the idea of being in control. Of course, nobody would want a bad life. Nobody wants failure. Nobody wants disasters. Everybody wants rainbows and smooth sailings and so scorn the rain and the waves. This fear is maybe the reason why writers have developed the idea of ways on how the future could be seen, or even changed. Time machines, time warps, precognition and foresight, time travelling (anything that concerns breaching the bridge of time). But the truth remains that we do not have a say for the threads of our life. We may spin it, stretch it, use it the way we want to, but the whole spool rests on the hands of the One who entrusted it to us.  The uncertainty of what the future holds was probably the reason why Jarod Kintz, in his book This Book is Not FOR SALE quoted:

“I want to go to sleep in my time machine and wake up eight hours in the future.” 

What we wouldn’t give to have a sliver of insight with regards to tomorrow!

Jeremiah 29:11 in The Message translation declares: 

“I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out – plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.”

Perhaps a well-known verse, Jeremiah 29:11, with its heartwarming promise of certainty and abundance, is a favorite especially for those who are on the verge of making big decisions. It highlights the sovereignty of the Lord by His declaration of “I know.” (I remember repeating this verse over and over in my head when I graduated from high school. The prospect of going to college back then shook the living daylight out of me.)  

Whenever I hear of this verse, only one idea pops into my mind.

I’ve always admired engineers. Being in a family where everyone has the title, I grew up asking questions related to the career, and remember how my head would always spin with confusion at the language they speak. My father is one, a packaging engineer, and I secretly enjoy moments when he would scrutinize a packaging – muttering his disapproval whenever one does not pass his standards. There’s just something in the way they plan and make things that it astounds me how every step and detail is thoroughly thought of – from the largest of parts to the tiniest of bolts and cuts. They know it – make a mistake (most especially in calculations) and their product would end up unfit and may even be unsafe for human use. However, when everything goes as planned, every gears in place, every pieces fit exactly as it should, the result is something that could make those with obsessive – compulsive tendencies wallow in glee. In my life, I’ve heard how the statement “Made by engineers” could garner appreciation and respect from those who would hear it.  Engineers are awesome. That’s all I can say. (Cheers to all engineers out there!)

It makes me realize how God had earned the title “The Great Engineer”, following and even exceeding the precision, discipline and meticulosity needed for a product design – which just so happens to be human life.

We come into this world not without a purpose and a plan. But sometimes, the bleakness of the future robs that truth out of our hearts that we forget our blueprints are already laid down and done. God – the great engineer who leaves nothing to chance had said it Himself: “I know what I’m doing”. While the logic about precognition in fiction tells of a future “not set in stone”, we can be assured that God’s version of the future is not something that would change, unless we choose not to stay in His blueprint.

Everything is all laid out. We just have to trust Him enough to do what He tells us, and that’s when everything will fall into place.

Trust the Engineer. He has your blueprint.

Any thoughts you want to share?

